news    views    podcast    learn    |    about    contribute     republish    
Share this article: facebook . twitter . linkedin . reddit

ICRA 2020 launches with plenary panel ‘COVID-19: How Roboticists Can Help’

May 30, 2020

ICRA is the largest robotics meeting in the world and is the flagship conference of the IEEE Robotics & Automation Society. It is thus our honor and pleasure to welcome you to this edition, although the current exceptional circumstances did not allow us to organize it in Paris as planned with the glimpse and splendor that our wonderful robotics community deserves. Now, for sure, Virtual ICRA 2020, the first online ICRA, will be one of the most memorable ICRA editions ever! [Message from the General & Program Chairs]

Live Plenary Panel – COVID-19 : How Roboticist Can Help ?

Our first Plenary is a hot topic panel on COVID-19 Pandemic & Robotics, moderated by Ken Goldberg and chaired by Wolfram Burgard. Catch it on Big Screen or on IEEE.TV.

Proudly featuring:

Robin Murphy
Brad Nelson
Richard Voyles
Kris Hauser
Antonio Bicchi
Andra Keay
Gangtie Zheng
Ayanna Howard

Kirsten Thurow
Helen Grenier
Howie Choset
Guang-Zhong Yang

Join us for the virtual conference taking place May 31 to August 31 with sessions available both live and on demand. Plenaries and keynotes will be featured every afternoon (Central European Time) from June 1 to June 15, with live interactive Q&A sessions with the speaker. Our goal is bringing cutting-edge ICRA sessions to our community around the globe and provide opportunities to network with like-minded professionals from around the world. We hope that this offering reaches new members of our community and creates engaging discussions within the virtual conference platform.

Schedule

Virtual workshops 31 May to 30 June
Award ceremony 5 June
Plenary talks 1 – 17 June
Paper discussions 1 June  –  31 August
Conference recorded material 1 June  –  31 August
RAS Member Events 1 June  –  31 August
Plenaries
Lydia E. Kavraki Planning in Robotics and Beyond Tuesday June 2, 1PM UTC
Yann LeCun Self-Supervised Learning & World Models Wednesday June 3, 1PM UTC
Jean-Paul Laumond Geometry of Robot Motion: from the Rolling Car to the Rolling Man Thursday June 4, 1PM UTC
Keynotes
Allison Okamura Haptics for Humans in a Physically Distanced World Monday June 8, 1PM UTC
Kerstin Dautenhahn Human-Centred Social Robotics:
Autonomy, Trust and Interaction Challenges
Tuesday June 9, 1PM UTC
Pieter Abbeel Can Deep Reinforcement Learning from pixels
be made as efficient as from state?
Wednesday June 10,  1PM UTC
Jaeheung Park Compliant Whole-body Control for Real-World Interactions Thursday June 11, 1PM UTC
Cordelia Schmid Automatic Video Understanding Friday June 121PM UTC
Cyrill Stachniss Robots in the Fields:
Directions Towards Sustainable Crop Production
 Monday June 15, 1PM UTC
Toby Walsh How long before Killer Robots?  Tuesday June 16, 1PM UTC
Hajime Asama Robot Technology for Super Resilience – Remote Technology for Response to Disasters, Accidents, and Pandemic Wednesday June 17,  1PM UTC

Special RAS Events

There are also several virtual gatherings for IEEE Robotics and Automation Society (RAS) society members and Students. Scroll below for more information.

RAS Meet the Leaders (formally Lunch with Leaders)

RAS Meet the Leaders is the virtual equivalent of the popular RAS Lunch with Leaders event traditionally held at IEEE RAS’s flagship conferences: ICRA, CASE, and IROS.

Meet the Leaders is planned for multiple dates and time zones to accommodate the international robotics community. Each Leader will begin with an informal 5-minute presentation about their career, followed by a question and answer session.

Participants (students and young professionals) may sign up for ONE session to participate in a relaxed chat with academic and industry leaders from around the world.

The following Leaders are confirmed for the dates and times listed below (check back often for additional sessions):

  • Tuesday, June 2nd @ 12:00 PDT / 19:00 GMT
    Aleksandra Faust, 2020 RAS Early Industry Career Award in Robotics and Automation
  • Wednesday, June 3rd @ 10:00 am AEST / 00:00 GMT
    Peter Corke, 2020 RAS George Saridis Leadership Award, (and colleagues)
  • Thursday, June 4th @ 8:00 pm JST / 11:00 GMT
    Toshio Fukuda, IEEE President
  • Thursday, June 4th @ 13:00 EDT / 17:00 GMT
    Jaydev Desai, RAS AdCom Class of 2022
  • Monday, June 8th @ 12:30 JST / 03:30 GMT
    Zhidong Wang, RAS VP Electronic Products and Services Board, Yasushi Nakauchi RAS VP Financial Activities Board, Yasuhisa Hirata, RAS AdCom Class of 2022
  • Tuesday, June 9th @ 1:00 am KST / 16:00:00 GMT (Monday, June 8)
    Frank Park, RAS President Elect
  • Tuesday, June 9th @ 12:00 CDT / 17:00 GMT
    Lydia Kavraki, 2020 RAS Pioneer Award Winner
  • Thursday, June 11th @ 10:00 am PDT / 17:00:00 GMT
    Allison Okamura, Editor-in-Chief of RA-L and Marcia O’Malley, IROS 2020 Program Chair
  • Thursday, June 11th @ 12:00 pm PDT / 19:00:00 GMT
    Dieter Fox, 2020 RAS Pioneer Award WinnerFriday,
  • June 12th @ 3:00 pm CEST / 13:00 GMT
    Torsten Kroeger, RAS Vice President of Conference Activities
  • Registration Form (Required): https://app.smartsheet.com/b/form/3834d7362695475f915f52b1653439c9
Silicon Valley Robotics
guest author
Silicon Valley Robotics the industry association supporting innovation and commercialization of robotics technologies.


comments powered by Disqus


Exploring from a Distance
July 28, 2020

Are you planning to crowdfund your robot startup?

Need help spreading the word?

Join the Robohub crowdfunding page and increase the visibility of your campaign